

SLB 2013 Bonazinga Award Winner

Philip M. Murphy, M.D.

Philip M. Murphy is a Senior Investigator and Chief of the Laboratory of Molecular Immunology (LMI) at the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) of the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda. Dr. Murphy received his undergraduate degree from Princeton and medical degree from Cornell, and trained in Internal Medicine at New York University-Bellevue Hospital Center. He has

spent his entire research career at NIAID, starting in 1985 as a Medical Staff Fellow in the Laboratory of Clinical Investigation, where he was mentored by Harry L. Malech, M. D. and John I. Gallin, M. D. He was promoted to Principal Investigator with tenure in 1992 and to Chief of the LMI in 2006. Dr. Murphy's research has focused on leukocyte chemotactic receptors, from their basic molecular and biologic properties to their roles in human disease. His laboratory's accomplishments include discovery of 1) the first neutrophil-, monocyte- and eosinophil-selective chemoattractant receptors, 2) the family of N-formylpeptide receptors, 3) the first virally-encoded chemokine receptors, 4) the HIV coreceptor CCR5 and the HIV restriction factor CCR5△32, and 5) the role of CCR5 in West Nile virus pathogenesis. More recently he has initiated a clinical program to develop mechanism-based therapy targeting the chemokine receptor CXCR4 in a rare immunodeficiency disorder known as WHIM syndrome, and has pioneered studies to define the role of chemoattractant receptors on nonhematopoietic cells and in behavior. Dr. Murphy serves on the editorial board of several scientific journals, including the *Journal of Leukocyte Biology* and has published over 200 peer-reviewed articles, particularly on chemokines and related chemoattractants. He has trained over 40 investigators, many of whom are recognized experts in their fields. He has received numerous patents and awards including the NIAID Mentor of the Year Award, the NIH Director's Award (twice), the Pillars of Immunology Award from the Journal of Immunology and the Dolph Adams Award from the Society of Leukocyte Biology, and has had several papers selected as Classics by Science magazine. In addition, he has been elected to the Association of American Physicians, the American Society for Clinical Investigation and the Henry Kunkel Society.