

Dr. Stefanie N. Vogel obtained her Ph.D. from the University of Maryland, College Park in 1977, did a post-doctoral fellowship at the NIH from 1977 to 1980, began her academic career as an assistant professor at Uniformed Services University in 1980, and moved to her current faculty position at the University of Maryland, School of Medicine in 2002. Starting with her postdoctoral work, Dr. Vogel has focused on the analysis of the fundamental mechanisms by which macrophage differentiation facilitates or restricts infectious agents or tumor growth. Her laboratory has made seminal contributions to the area of immunology that we now call "innate immunity," and specifically, the mechanisms by which Toll-like receptor (TLR) signaling is regulated. She has characterized many of the fundamental mechanisms by which TLR agonists, such as Gram negative lipopolysaccharide (LPS), cytokines, and interferons regulate macrophage functions. Moreover, Dr. Vogel's laboratory has used

a model of "endotoxin tolerance" to study the regulation of such signaling pathways. The creative use of genetic, molecular, and biochemical approaches, combined with unique animal models of infection, has led to their most recent, highly translational work, resulting in novel therapeutic approaches for influenza and respiratory syncytial virus (RSV), development of small molecule TLR antagonists based on the structural interactions of innate signaling molecules, and prototype vaccines for RSV and the biothreat agent, *Francisella tularensis*.

Dr. Vogel has published ~300 peer-reviewed publications plus ~50 invited works, has mentored 36 post-doctoral fellows and 11 graduate students, and has directed a T32 training grant entitled "Signaling Pathways in Innate Immunity." She has had continuous NIH funding for 35 years, including an "NIH Merit Award," in addition to other sources of grant support. In addition to her Honorary Lifetime Membership Award from the Society of Leukocyte Biology, Dr. Vogel has been honored by the Society of Leukocyte Biology previously with the Bonazinga Award, the International Cytokine and Interferon Society with the Milstein Award, the International Endotoxin and Innate Immunity Society with the Frederik Bang Award, and International Association of Inflammation Societies/Inflammation Research Association with the Women in Inflammation Award.