Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee

Deborah Fraser

Committee Members:

Amanda Brown, Council Liaison
Diane Bimczok
Archana Gopalakrishnan
Chad Markert
Hazel Ozuna
Nicholas Pullen

Xuewei Zhu
Susu Zughaier


About the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee


Formally "The Women and Diversity Committee", the DEI Committee is composed of a chair as appointed by the President plus 5 to 6 members, each serving a term of three years and is eligible for re-appointment. A council member, as appointed by the President, will serve as a liaison between the committee and the council. The council may suggest, and the President appoint, a new chair from the pool of current committee members.


The group has the authority to plan activities and propose programs that aid the membership with a special focus on diversifying the scientific and society community providing a welcoming and inclusive environment for researchers from all backgrounds.

Activities and Responsibilities:

1. Actively assist and promote professionally qualified individuals who encounter barriers to career advancement due to factors such as gender, nationality, ethnicity, age, disability, or sexual orientation by facilitating networking, enhancing visibility and sharing information and access to resources.

2. Plan a workshop  for the annual meeting which focuses on career advancement and knowledge base for all members from all backgrounds.