Awards & Honors Committee

David Underhill

Committee Members:
Cynthia Leifer
Jonathan Reichner
Vijaya Iragavarapu-Charyulu

About the Awards & Honors Committee


The Awards and Honors Committee shall be composed of the President-elect who chairs the committee for the two year term associated with their President-Elect term along with three volunteers from council as selected by the chair. These members serve a one year term which may be repeated once.


The Awards and Honors Committee is tasked with soliciting nominations for various awards. The committee has the authority to select the annual winner of the Bonazinga Award as well as select Thorbecke, Adams, Presidential Finalists and Student Travel Awards based on applications.

Activities and Responsibilities:

1. The committee identifies individuals who should be accorded Honorary Life Memberships in the Society for Leukocyte Biology as a tribute to their contributions to the knowledge of leukocyte biology.  Two Honorary Life Members can be elected each year upon recommendation by the Council to the membership at the Annual Business Meeting.  Such nominees are to be elected by two-thirds of the membership attending the annual business meeting.

2. Select winners of Marie T. Bonazinga, G. Jeanette Thorbecke, Dolph O. Adams, Presidential Finalists (student and Junior Faculty/Post-Doc categories) and Student travel Awards in association with the annual meeting in accordance with the procedure set forth in the Awards section of the Handbook.

3. Review related web pages and make suggestions for keeping content up-to-date.